## ਮਹਾਰਾਜਾ ਰਣਜੀਤ ਸਿੰਘ ਪੰਜਾਬ ਤਕਨੀਕੀ ਯੂਨੀਵਰਸਿਟੀ, ਬਠਿੰਡਾ

ਡੱਬਵਾਲੀ ਰੋਡ, ਬਠਿੰਡਾ - 151001

Maharaja Ranjit Singh Punjab Technical University

DABWALI ROAD, BATHINDA-151001

[A State University Estb. by Govt. of Punjab Act No. 5(2015) u/s 2(f) & Approved u/s 12B of UGC Act, 1956]

ਡੀਨ (ਅਕਾਦਮਿਕ ਮਾਮਲੇ)

**DEAN (Academic Affairs)** 

Ref. No.: DAA/MRSPTU/Notification/ 76

Date: 13-03-2020

### **NOTIFICATION**

#### **BOARD OF STUDIES IN MECHANICAL ENGINEERING** (Tenure: 01.04.2020 to 31.03.2022)

Whereas, Maharaja Ranjit Singh Punjab Technical University has been established u/s 2(f) of the UGC Act, 1956; vide Punjab Act 5(2015) notified through Punjab Government Gazette Extraordinary (Regd No CHD/0092/2015-2017) Notification No. 5-Leg./2015 dated 12<sup>th</sup> February 2015.

**Further Whereas**, the structure of Board of Studies for various courses running in the University was approved by the Board of Governors of MRSPTU vide item 2.19 in its 2<sup>nd</sup> meeting held on 7.9.2015.

Whereas, with the approval of the competent authority, the BoS in Mechanical Engg. is notified as under:

SNo	NOMENCLATURE	NAME & ADDRESS	DESIGNATION
(i)	Head of Department	DR. BALWINDER SINGH	CHAIRPERSON (Ex-Officio)
		Professor & Head	
		Department of Mechanical Engg.	
		GZSCCET, MRSPTU Bathinda	
		(87250-72415) drbwssidhu07@gmail.com	
(ii)	One Faculty member	1. Dr Balwinder Singh	Member(s)
	(of each	Department of Mechanical Engg.	
	specialization)	GZSCCET, MRSPTU Bathinda	
		(9463936756) drbwssidhu07@gmail.com	
		2. Dr Rajesh Gupta	
		Department of Mechanical Engg	
		GZSCCET, MRSPTU Bathinda,	
		(94631-35222) rg91@rediffmail.com	
		3. Dr Harish Garg	
		Department of Mechanical Engg	
		GZSCCET, MRSPTU Bathinda	
		(92176-89991) harish_k_garg@rediffmail.com	
	Section and the sector of the	4. Prof Naveen Singla	
		Department of Mechanical Engg	
		GZSCCET, MRSPTU Bathinda	
		(94632-59653) single.naveen2@gmail.com	
		5. Prof Jasvir Singh Tiwana	
		Department of Mechanical Engg	
		GZSCCET, MRSPTU Bathinda	
		(94175-42454) jstiwana1@rediffmail.com	
		6. Prof Vivek Kaundal	
		Department of Mechanical Engg	
		GZSCCET, MRSPTU Bathinda	
		(94171-93018)	
(iii)	One Expert	Dr Harpreet Singh	Member
	(in the subject from	Department of Mechanical Engineering	
	outside the Univ.)	Indian Institute of Technology, Ropar	
		(98557-09052) harpreetsingh@iitrpr.ac.in	

(iv)	Two Experts	1. Dr Buta Singh Sidhu	Members
	(nominated by the	Dean P&D, MRSPTU Bathinda	
	Vice Chancellor)	(95011-09002) butasidhu@yahoo.com	
		2. Dr Subhash Chander	
		Professor, Deptt of Mech Engg	
		Dr B R Ambedkar NIT Jalandhar	
		(0181-3082000) chanders@nitj.ac.in	
(v)	Two Faculty	1. Dr Manish Goyal	Members
	members	Professor of Mech Engg & Principal	
	(from affiliated/	Baba Farid CET, Deon, Bathinda	
	constituent Colleges)	(95011-15403) principalbfcet@babafaridgroup.com	
		2. Dr Gurpreet Singh Sidhu	
		Professor of Mech Engg & Principal	
		LLRIET, Moga	
		(98761-11731) gsidhu74@gmail.com	
(vi)	One representative	Er Rajiv Kumar Garg	Member
	(from industry/	DGM(MPG) Maruti Suzuki India Ltd, Gurgaon	
	corporate sector)	(99111-93970) rajivkumar.garg@maruti.co.in	
(vii)	One Post-Graduate	Dr Ekta Singla	Member
	meritorious alumnus	Head, Department of Mechanical Engineering	
		Indian Institute of Technology, Ropar	
		(84274-00635) ekta@iitrpr.ac.in	

#### For Programmes:

1	Pre-PhD Course work	5	BTech in Mech Engg			
2	MTech Mech Engg / Production Engg		BTech in Industrial Engg			
3	MTech (CAD/CAM) or (Automation & Robotics)	7	BTech in Production Engg			
4	MTech (Industrial Engg/ Thermal Engg)	8	BTech in Automobile/Automotive			
In addition: Any other Mechanical Engg related program, as referred by the Academic Council						

#### **MAIN FUNCTIONS:**

- a) To prepare syllabi for various Programmes in line with the Vision, Mission and Objectives of the university/ department, interest of all stakeholders, including employers and national requirements, for consideration and approval of the Academic Council
- b) To suggest methods and methodologies for innovative teaching and evaluation techniques
- c) To coordinate research, teaching and extension/ outreach activities in the university/ department
- d) To suggest to Academic Council, an expert panel of faculty members for Q-Paper setters; Evaluators and for examining the lab courses
- e) Any other assignment, as referred to, by the MRSPTU Academic Council

#### **QUORUM:**

Quorum of the BoS meeting shall be minimum of half of the members of the BoS constituted including the Chairperson of the BoS.

In case of Change of Head of Deptt during the tenure period of BoS, the new appointed Head of Deptt shall take over as Chairperson of BoS ex-officio. The term of members expires on 31.03.2022 or till they hold official positions as above, whichever is earlier.

# DEAN ACADEMIC AFFAIRS (Savina Bansal)

#### Dated: 13-03-2020

Forwarded to the following for further necessary action please:

Endst. No. DAA/MRSPTU/NOTIFICATION/76/1-4

- 1. Hon'ble Vice Chancellor cum Chairman Academic Council MRSPTU, Bathinda
- 2. Registrar cum Member Secretary BoG of MRSPTU Bathinda
- 3. Dean Academics, MRSPTU Bathinda
- 4. All Concerned

Page 2 of 2